Graduate College of Engineering

Dr. Javier Kypuros, Dean

The College of Engineering is composed of four departments – the departments of Civil Engineering, Construction Management, Electrical Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering. It offers three master's degree programs. The Department of Civil Engineering offers the Master of Science in Civil Engineering. The Department of Electrical Engineering offers the Master of Science in Electrical Engineering. The Department of Mechanical Engineering offers the Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering.


The College of Engineering at the University of Texas at Tyler strives to be the preeminent engineering institution in the region with a national reputation for scholarly excellence and transformational regional impact. We aspire to develop professionals whose technical prowess, unyielding integrity, interpersonal skills, and global awareness elevate them as leaders in their organization, industry, and community. College of Engineering graduates will be poised to positively impact and transform the future through service to their communities, region, and the Nation.


The College of Engineering is a regional anchor preparing professionals to excel in a global context, and as such our mission is to

  • Prepare graduates who think critically and serve the global community as professionals through practice, application, collaboration, and innovation;
  • Foster the intellectual and economic vitality of the region, the state, and the nation through teaching, research, and outreach; and
  • Instill a sense of excellence, ethics, integrity, leadership, and service in our graduates.